Gransnet forums

Religion/spirituality

Attending a hearse passing 'funeral'

(83 Posts)
tiredoldwoman Sun 07-Feb-21 16:24:50

I want to attend one on Wednesday , I've never done this before . What is the etiquette ?
I read that some people clap but not sure if I like that idea .
I suppose just turn up and see what happens ?
I think I'll feel comfortable with just a respectful, quiet head bowing .

Daddima Wed 10-Feb-21 17:51:36

The Bodach’s friend died suddenly, and at the funeral his wife and her friends stood around the curtains at the crematorium and performed a yoga move ( may have been called Salute to the Sun) as the curtains were closing.
To each his own, but not for me.

NannyC2 Wed 10-Feb-21 16:24:00

I enjoyed your comment about the Morris dancers, Chocolate pudding.
I think it is good to be respectful at a funeral, but it can also be seen as a celebration of life.
Quite often, a deceased person will leave his/her wishes as to how they would like their funeral to be carried out.

It is good to remember that God so loved the world that He gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in Him shall not perish but have eternal life.

SueDoku Wed 10-Feb-21 13:18:01

Sometimes clapping is appropriate. Recently, a well-loved doctor at our local hospital died from Covid (caught while treating patients). At his funeral, the hearse drove past the hospital, the road was lined with (distanced) hospital staff, all in their uniforms - and they applauded as he passed. It seemed utterly fitting as a tribute to a brave man.

Unigran4 Mon 08-Feb-21 19:55:47

A long-serving Churchwarden at our Church knew he was dying and arranged his funeral with our Vicar.

The time came and we held the service in Church. As the undertakers prepared to bear the coffin back to the hearse the Vicar announced that Cyril had asked to be taken out to a round of applause. We obliged wholeheartedly. It was what he wanted and a lovely ending to the service.

Copes283 Mon 08-Feb-21 17:53:16