Gransnet forums

Site stuff

How did you choose your username?

(19 Posts)
Tangerine Thu 05-Mar-20 22:10:20

I wanted a nice sounding word that didn't indicate anything too revealing about me.

I tried one or two other fruits but they'd already been taken.

Willynilly Thu 05-Mar-20 22:02:06

Because I errr err errr prevaricate ?

Juno56 Thu 05-Mar-20 18:16:17

My user name was accepted first attempt. Roman goddesses not a popular choice for grans I suppose.
I chose it because I'm a bit chaotic in the housewifery department and DH jokingly calls me a "domestic goddess".

grandMattie Thu 05-Mar-20 17:22:14

It's my name and I'm a grandmother!

CherryCezzy Thu 05-Mar-20 17:19:06

As a newbie I had no trouble choosing my username and it was accepted first choice. I did pause inputting it in as I hesitated before selecting the second capital and a message came up that Cherry was taken but it appeared briefly and I continued with my choice. Both are parts of nicknames I've had over the years.

Purplepixie Thu 05-Mar-20 16:40:50

I'm new to this wonderful site. Purple is my favourite colour and Pixie was my beautiful cat that sadly died last year. She was my best friend and I miss her like mad.

Grammaretto Thu 05-Mar-20 16:02:19

I think I'm the only grammaretto but I had a couple of attempts and they were already taken.

I agree with Bathsheba that there are a lot of very similar names which make it confusing.

Luckylegs Thu 05-Mar-20 15:15:41

It was my nickname at school (not meant kindly!) so it was obvious to me!

ninathenana Thu 05-Mar-20 13:43:03

Bathsheba fair point.

As I joined a couple of months after GN started I had no trouble choosing my name.

LadyGracie Thu 05-Mar-20 13:08:30

After my beloved cat, sadly no longer with us.

Bathsheba Thu 05-Mar-20 12:45:13

there was a long thread started by a member recently asking the same question.