Gransnet forums

Sport

Kicking a ball

(12 Posts)
JackyB Thu 15-Apr-21 11:19:04

We have our DGS (age 6) three days a week as schools are still shut here. We take him through his lessons and have a "playtime" and try to keep to a timetable.

In the break we kick a ball around with him in the garden. I realised I've never done this before, and I quite enjoy it, I think I'm quite good. Well, good at the kicking part. I'm not too agile at the running after the ball at my age!

Why didn't we get to play football at school? We played hockey, rounders, netball, badminton, even a little tennis, but our year didn't get offered football, although the boys were given a go at hockey (that was soon stopped when they got rather overenthusiastic swinging the hockey sticks.)

My sister, two years below me, was offered fencing, trampolining and rugby.

At least we learned these games. German schools don't offer much gym or sports and as a result none of my DS have the faintest idea how football works, nor any team sport. Nor were they ever encouraged in ball control.

All such activities have to be done outside school time and at the parents' expense.

Anyway, my point is, what sports would you have liked to do at school and of the ones you did have, what did you enjoy?

BigBertha1 Thu 15-Apr-21 12:12:25

I played hockey and I loved it and now golf which has grown from my love of hockey. Lots of lady golfers report the same thing.

I also played netball which I also loved and in recent years set up a Walking Netball group which is going strong all with ladies over 60 reliving their netball years.

I wish we had played more tennis at school - only had a few sessions.

Sadly the school let me get away with bunking off swimming lessons.

Calendargirl Thu 15-Apr-21 12:14:46

I enjoyed hockey and swimming at school, not much good at tennis. Netball seemed to be reserved for those no good at hockey.

Never any desire to play football, rugby, cricket.

Peasblossom Thu 15-Apr-21 12:18:44