Gransnet forums

Style & beauty

Any hairdressers out there? Need advice, please.

(14 Posts)
NotTooOld Sun 01-Nov-20 22:41:34

I usually have my roots done at the salon every 6-8 weeks but in this time of covid I have been dying my hair myself with a box dye. I have tried using a touch-up dye just on the roots but I am not very good at it and I get poor results. I find it much easier to do the whole of my head but I am worried about build up of colour at the ends. Is it ok to use home dye on all of my hair every six weeks or so or should I struggle on with trying to dye just the roots? (My hair is mostly grey and I dye it light golden brown with Clairol Nice n Easy.)
Thanks for any advice!

crazyH Sun 01-Nov-20 22:48:39

I have also been quite unsuccessful with the root touch-up. I prefer to do the whole lot. I just use Dark Brown every 6 weeks. I have a friend who dyes her hair every 3 weeks without any problems.

crazyH Sun 01-Nov-20 22:50:52

Just realised, I haven't answered your question. No, I don't find any build up of colour at the ends.

DillytheGardener Sun 01-Nov-20 22:53:44

I studied hair dressing (many many moons ago)
No, definitely do not dye the whole length of your hair, it causes build up, and your hair will become brittle and fragile. It also will cause that nasty one shade, dead look if it’s re dyed constantly. Can you buy some sectioning clips online and get someone at home to do it? My husband does mine. Also if haven’t already get a proper little bowel and brush to do it with.

Oldbutstilluseful Sun 01-Nov-20 23:02:20

I have used box dye on my hair for decades, mostly dying the whole head. Result? Dry, brittle unmanageable hair which looked more and more like candy floss. I now, with difficulty, make sure I only colour the roots. It really is worth the extra effort.

Nanna58 Sun 01-Nov-20 23:35:11

Dillythe gardener , picturing someone dying their hair with a proper little ‘ bowel’ has made my day !!!!!???

NotTooOld Mon 02-Nov-20 10:55:21