Gransnet forums

Technology

Looking for a camera..

(20 Posts)
Aka Sat 30-Nov-13 11:14:32

Are there any amateur photographers out there? I'm looking for a new camera for Christmas. Don't mind a compact or DSLR. My price limit is £400 but if I can get a good one for less that's ok.
Picture quality and ease of use are most important. Also as it's mainly for capturing 'that moment' something very fast. Ease to download, possibly WiFi ?, but I'd also like to be able to use it to capture some of the birds that visit my garden.

Any suggestions would be really welcome smile

Aka Sat 30-Nov-13 11:15:47

PS I've looked on the Internet, but there's a bewildering selection, so a personal recommendation would go a long way.

Mishap Sat 30-Nov-13 11:42:46

Don't panic - I used to work as a photographer and it all depends on what you want to do with the end product. Do you want high quality prints, or are you more likely to share online?

Cameras have moved on so fast and my advice would be to go for whatever gets you what you want with the least trouble!

Compact cameras are cheap, easy to use and have good picture quality, but not such good zoom quality if you want to get close-up.

DSLRs are a total pain for the sort of family or holiday photography that most people want to do. Whilst it is nice to have some sort of greater control than a compact can offer, having to change lenses to go close or distant is a nuisance. I stopped using a DSLR even when I was working professionally as I was usually photographing film shoots and had to seize the moment when a good shot materialised - no time to faff around with lens changing.