Gransnet forums

Technology

Advice needed please

(12 Posts)
mrsjones Thu 28-Jun-18 15:48:58

I received an email from “Microsoft “ this morning which said my hotmail address will be deleted today as I have not used it for 2 years. I use this email frequently so I assume it’s a scam of some sort. I’m not tech savvy at all - should I just delete it? It said something about One Drive and I don’t even know what this means.

MrsJamJam Thu 28-Jun-18 16:08:36

If it was me I would ignore it. Almost certainly a scam.

hildajenniJ Thu 28-Jun-18 18:43:00

Just had a look at Microsoft for you. Oh boy, is it confusing! I found a support number that might be worth ringing.
It sounded to me like Microsoft may be advertising a new or renamed email account.

Support Contact Number Helpline Number 0800-098-8400

Humbertbear Thu 28-Jun-18 21:53:46

I read emails on my iPad and if you press on the name of the sender the complete address comes up and you can see if it is a scam or not.

Treebee Thu 28-Jun-18 22:01:48

I think this might be correct as unused accounts can be deleted. If you start using it again perhaps it won’t be deleted? Otherwise, set up a new account.

Treebee Thu 28-Jun-18 22:03:48

Ah, just read your post properly and seen you do use it. Ignore me, as you were.

muffinthemoo Thu 28-Jun-18 22:06:44

Scam, delete.

FlexibleFriend Thu 28-Jun-18 22:58:46

One Drive is a Microsoft app that stores Photo's and Documents to the cloud, it's on my Laptop but I've never used it.

mrsjones Thu 28-Jun-18 23:20:00

Thanks for your replies. I decided to ignore the email and just hope all will be working ok tomorrow.

NanaMacGeek Thu 28-Jun-18 23:32:50