Gransnet forums

Technology

Windows 10 updating

(39 Posts)
ExD Thu 16-Jul-20 16:20:25

Is it usual for a laptop update to take over 4 hours, stuck on "just a moment"?
I can't even switch it off, its completely unresponsive. Its Microsoft windows 10 and I'm without my main computer.
Any tips?

Luckygirl Wed 02-Dec-20 12:49:50

I hate these updates as I am not sure who they are intended to benefit. They usually result in annoying changes that I have to get my head around.

Dinosaur, moi!? grin

lovebeigecardigans1955 Wed 02-Dec-20 12:45:40

When I switched on this morning I just got a photo of a landscape - no icons at all on which to click, what on earth to do? Damnation. I thought I'd have to take it to the shop if they're open and if not bribe a young nephew to help.

In desperation I pressed 'Esc' which I've never done before and lo and behold the almost normal stuff came back and I was able to cope. Phew! Sometimes I feel like going to live in a remote log cabin and having nothing to do with the modern world. Anyone else feel the same way?

Jane10 Mon 30-Nov-20 13:39:23

Phew. Just checked. All done. Looks a bit different but I'll get used to it.

Jane10 Mon 30-Nov-20 13:32:26

Oh dear. I left my PC quietly updating itself. The warning did say that it would take longer to update than usual. I'd better go and check on it...

Missedout Mon 30-Nov-20 13:16:57

I updated my Windows 10 laptop last week. It took me 2 days!

It kept getting stuck at 61% install, for hours ........then nothing. I ran all the various 'fixes', the Windows troubleshooting tool, the command line instructions and so on. I searched online for 'stuck at 61%'. There were suggestions that there were problems with the sound drivers, so I followed instructions and deleted the drivers (to be updated after the update). I ended up with a laptop I couldn't update and without any sound.