Gransnet forums

Travel

Easy camping recipes

(34 Posts)
minimo Sat 19-Aug-17 09:46:41

We are going on a 4 day camping trip with my son, dil and 2 grandkids. It's my first time doing this for many years! We're taking turns cooking. Any good ideas on simple recipes for camping? Preferably with minimal pans so minimal washing up! We will have a camping stove and we are allowed to bbq.

Teetime Sat 19-Aug-17 09:49:18

Pizza deliveries??? smile

MawBroon Sat 19-Aug-17 09:54:38

Pub lunches.

minimo Sat 19-Aug-17 09:55:22

Ha - if it was just the grown-ups I'd seriously consider it. But the parents are v keen to get the kids away from city life. To the point that I may have to dissuade them from foraging grin

ninathenana Sat 19-Aug-17 09:58:11

Bbq bangers and mash
Bbq chicken skewers with peppers or whatever and savoury rice
Spag bol made with bought sauce

cornergran Sat 19-Aug-17 10:04:41

Pasta is our family fall back position in these situations. Those ready filled parcels or ordinary pasta with some cooked bacon and sauce. Can you have plenty of cheese to grate on top- or one of those ready grated bags - plus salad if they will eat it? Having said that my vote would be for the pub smile.

kittylester Sat 19-Aug-17 12:35:12

Fish and chips!!

annsixty Sat 19-Aug-17 12:48:18

We used to take tins of M&S curries and chicken in a white sauce. A few new potatoes or rice which can be bought now ready cooked in sachets and heated up in a frying pan.I would take a prepared casserole which you can transport either frozen or cooked the day before and reheated.
I certainly didn't turn my nose up at convenience food then as I do now. Holidays are for enjoying.

Anniebach Sat 19-Aug-17 13:10:28

Thinking back to my camping days with cubs and scouts , best not to really, thank heaven for sausages and Welsh Rarebit without the beer and cawl

Anya Sat 19-Aug-17 13:18:14

Will you have an electrical hook-up?

glammanana Sat 19-Aug-17 13:21:45