Gransnet forums

Travel

Holiday Abroad in May Booked: What to do?

(114 Posts)
Stella14 Wed 04-Mar-20 11:24:57

Has anyone else got a much looked forward to holiday abroad booked for some point over the next few months? Hubby and I are booked to fly from Newcastle, via Heathrow to Johannesburg on 8th May. We are then to be on Safari at a private game reserve beside Kruger National Park. We have been counting down the days. We now feel in a bit of a quandary in the light of Covid-19. We are both over 60. I have asthma, hubby has diabetes. We are both scientists of different kinds by profession and we don’t buy the argument put forward by some that this virus is nothing special to worry about, since it is especially highly contagious and the mortality is high (relative to other viruses) for older people with respiratory conditions, cardiovascular conditions and diabetes. For that reason, we are avoiding crowds and plan to keep mainly to ourselves until the virus begins to settle out. I am not really too concerned about contracting it in the African bush, but am a bit concerned about airports and being on an aircraft (in business class, so fewer people) for 12 hours. It’s hard to judge where this will be up to by May, but I’d have to cancel the safari lodge by the end of March in order to lose 20%, rather than 50% of the full cost of the stay.

I would love to hear how others with booked trips are dealing with this issue.

Oopsadaisy3 Wed 04-Mar-20 11:28:52

We are due to go next week, only the Canaries, We both have Asthma And DH has a chest infection at the moment. He’s coughing and spluttering all day

And I wouldn’t want to sit next to him on the plane if he was a stranger!

What to do?

DoraMarr Wed 04-Mar-20 11:32:03