Gransnet forums

Travel

New car - bigger!

(28 Posts)
eddiecat78 Mon 13-Mar-23 15:07:31

I'm a nervous driver who sticks to short local journeys. It really would be sensible if we cut back to just one car so we have bought a mini clubman . It's smaller than Husband's previous car but bigger than mine - and automatic which I'm not used to. We haven't got rid of mine yet but it's getting on a bit and we really don't need 2 cars. I could do with some tips and encouragement to help me adapt to the new car. I don't want to give up driving completely yet

Oldbat1 Tue 14-Mar-23 13:18:42

Big cars are ok to drive but parking isn’t so easy. Cars have increased in width and parking spaces aren’t generous. Dh loves big cars but I prefer a normal size eg focus or fiesta. Getting parked with enough room to open car door is the issue. Automatic cars are very easy and I don’t have any issues using manual or automatic.

NotSpaghetti Tue 14-Mar-23 11:44:05

Here are the clubman/Up dimensions.
Obviously I don't know the year.

eddiecat78 Tue 14-Mar-23 11:10:40

Thank you for the encouragement. Perhaps I'll report back in a couple of weeks

timetogo2016 Tue 14-Mar-23 09:30:06

I think Kalu`s advice is spot on eddiecat78.
I only drive an automatic now,and i love it.

Kalu Tue 14-Mar-23 09:20:34

Time to bite the bullet and do a few short drives to familiarise yourself with a change of car. I have been driving automatics for years and definitely my preference as opposed to manual.
Enjoy.

Greyduster Tue 14-Mar-23 08:48:19

Compared with the VW Up, the Clubman is certainly a longer car - longer than my Cooper - and all Minis have longer bonnets than they used to have. All are automatic now but still have the sound and feel of a manual as you take it up the box. And my God they are nippy! If you are not deeply in love with this car very soon, “eddicat*, I’ll eat my hat!

Germanshepherdsmum Tue 14-Mar-23 08:28:02