Gransnet forums

TV, radio, film, Arts

Woman's Hour - farewell Jenni Murray

(15 Posts)
annodomini Thu 01-Oct-20 10:42:29

I've been listening to Woman's Hour, on and off since the late 1950s. It was broadcast in the afternoon on the BBC Light Programme, presented by Margery Anderson. Even when I was a student and, thanks to a small legacy from my Granny, had acquired a transistor radio, I'd listen in on afternoons when I didn't have a lecture. I missed out on WH when I was teaching and when I went off to foreign parts for five years, but when I came back as a young mum, I caught up as if I had never been away. I remember Sue McGregor as presenter with great authority and presence and, for the past 33 years, Jenni Murray has kept us both informed and stimulated. Even my middle-aged son, when he is able to listen in the morning, finds the programme interesting and topical. He often discusses with me subjects that have come up that day. It's time to say goodbye and happy retirement to Jenni; hello and welcome to Emma Barton whom I admire as an excellent broadcaster on 5 Live and a penetrating interviewer on Newsnight.
What has Woman's Hour meant to you?

felice Thu 01-Oct-20 12:10:08

A bit of stability when things have been all of a kerfuffle.
I have been in Hospital often in the past 14 years, and the first thing DD always does is either bring in a radio for me or now make sure I have Radio 4 on my tablet, with headphones.
Jenni will be missed, she has never been afraid of courting controversy.

NotSpaghetti Sun 04-Oct-20 00:28:10

I missed her last day. Think maybe ill find it on a podcast.

It's sad when "old friends" aren't there any more.
I can't bear Desert Island Disks anymore since the new woman took over, unfortunately. She just can't ask the right question and doesn't seem to have the same empathy... I hope woman's hour doesn't just completely change direction.

Goodbye Jenni. You will be missed.

welbeck Sun 04-Oct-20 00:46:33