Gransnet forums

Work/volunteering

Any care worker here?

(10 Posts)
LucasArt Sat 29-Dec-18 19:03:28

Hi All,

Are there any care workers still working in their 60s? Do you think this is the type of job that most people still able to cope in their 50s or 60s?

Thanks.

Lynne59 Sat 29-Dec-18 19:57:55

I worked in the care sector for 22 years, mainly as a community care worker. I finished that job a year ago, at the age of 58 (I work elsewhere these days). I'd simply got fed-up of 6.30am starts, double shifts, getting home at 10.30pm, the weekends/holidays when the company didn't pay anything extra (it was all minimum wage).

I loved the job, but I love my present job more now.

MiniMoon Sat 29-Dec-18 20:02:52

I was a mental health nurse working on a large care home. I retired at 61 yrs 8 months.
The paperwork was fine, it was the care side that became too much for me. I was exhausted at the end of three consecutive 12 hour night shifts.

LucasArt Sat 29-Dec-18 21:08:12

Thanks Lynne59 and MiniMoon for your replies.

I am interested in career change from a desk job to something rewarding without having to do another degree. I am hoping to find some volunteering work at the weekends to begin with (I work FT at the moment). I worry about the physical aspects of the job as well as coping with shifts. Is there much chance of finding non shifts care jobs at all?

Many thanks.

LucasArt Sat 29-Dec-18 21:10:39

Lynne59, what is your present job now? I can't see myself doing what I am doing now for the rest of my working life, very keen on some inspirations!

dizzyblonde Sat 29-Dec-18 21:24:57

I’m in my 50’s and work full-time shifts as a paramedic. I don’t seem to find shifts any harder than younger people and certainly less challenging than people with young children.

Lynne59 Sat 29-Dec-18 22:41:11