Gransnet forums

Chat

Is it just me?

(51 Posts)
alex57currie Mon 27-Oct-14 11:18:43

Hi everyone. I'm new to this, so please be patient. First of, I'm not an English language expert. If I make mistakes I'm quite acceptable to constructive critisism. That being said I'll get to the point. Over a period of time I've noticed something creeping into our daily speech and written text. I'ts the use of the two letter word "of" to replace "have". My 34 yr. old daughter uses it in her daily speech, and we've had to agree to disagree. Maybe I'm just a pedantic dinosaur and it's the natural evolution of our language. It seems it takes more mouth muscles to incorporate it into a sentence. Feedback appreciated positive or negative. BTW, I've navigated round most of the forum, and I must say I find you all interesting and amazing. Glad I joined, even if I'm metaphorically shot down in flames with this new thread. (hmm)

kittylester Mon 27-Oct-14 11:36:43

Welcome alex - hope you enjoy GN wine

I hate it - it is wrong! I think we've had a thread on this before but I'm sure we are all happy to moan about it, and no doubt other things, again! grin

Ana Mon 27-Oct-14 11:49:15

No, it is certainly not just you, alex!

In my local supermarket the other day I was passing a young couple apparently worrying about whether they should have bought something or other earlier. "Yes, we should of" she said, and I had to tell myself it was none of my business...grin

FarNorth Mon 27-Oct-14 11:50:04

No shooting down in flames from me smile.

Yes, I've noticed that too. It doesn't make sense to me, especially when I see it in writing, as it is completely the wrong word for what the person is trying to say.

Ana Mon 27-Oct-14 11:50:48

It also annoys me when characters say it on tv programmes (especially soaps). The producers, or someone, must know it's incorrect and sets a bad example, but it still goes on.

Agus Mon 27-Oct-14 11:51:28

Welcome alex