Gransnet forums

AIBU

Not a granny yet

(92 Posts)
Skylark Thu 10-Oct-13 15:25:17

I'm new to this forum. I've just learnt today from my son that I'm to be a grandmother. Circumstances far from ideal - this baby is the result of a liaison my son had whilst travelling abroad. I should be excited, but actually I'm in bits. Not yet been able to discuss with my partner, the rest of the family or close friends yet, and just need to offload. If anyone has experience of this situation, I would love to hear from you.

ninathenana Thu 10-Oct-13 15:45:15

Sorry I have no experience of your situation but I think I can understand your anguish.

Welcome to GN.

Elegran Thu 10-Oct-13 16:22:57

There is someone else on the forum whose son is in a similar situation, a baby after a short affair. I am sure they will see your post and reply.

All those concerned (both of the baby's parents and the grandparents) need to be tolerant and sensible. Not easy, when recriminations are possibly flying around. I hope all goes well.

Elegran Thu 10-Oct-13 16:26:51

I think the only advice I can give is rather superficial. It is not to say anything that you will regret later - you will all have to have a lot of contact with one another to do the best for the child.

HildaW Thu 10-Oct-13 16:36:08

Have no real experience of this but would just like to say that there will be no right or wrong way for you to react. You say you 'should' be excited when in fact the opposite is true. That is a perfectly reasonable response in this situation. Do not be made to feel guilty just because there might be social pressure around you to just put on a smile and try to welcome the situation. Any half decent parent is going to feel very confused by this because they would be worrying about how their, albeit grown-up, child is going to cope with what could be a very emotionally complex time.