Gransnet forums

AIBU

AIBU to be grumpy about a biscuit?

(50 Posts)
CariGransnet (GNHQ) Sat 01-Apr-17 06:51:39

Not even 7am on a Saturday and I am awake and fed up. It was bad enough when the factory flooded last year and there was a shortage of bourbons and ginger nuts. Yesterday they were saying in Tesco that my favourite biscuit of all - the pink wafer - is being discontinued forever more. Apparently it's the 'pink' thing - sexist and not 'gender neutral' enough. I'm condemned to a life of boring vanilla wafers all because people are taking PC to extremes. A little thing but I'm starting the day feeling grumpy angry

(I'm not very good with change - I'm still not over the fact Kellogg's stopped making Puffa Puffa Rice and that was around 1975. Still crave it!)

ginny Sat 01-Apr-17 06:56:43

wink

kittylester Sat 01-Apr-17 07:05:19

Things are not what they were, Cari. sad

absent Sat 01-Apr-17 07:05:48

Yes, you are being silly and, yes, Tesco is being ridiculous and they are truly awful bics for grown-ups. I have to admit that my two-year-old grandson loves them and sometimes they are the favourite for the five-year-old.

On a pink stuff thing, it should just be normal. You don't stop make pink strawberry-flavoured things because pink has, apparently, become a colour that has political issues. Are they going to do that with yogurt and ice cream? It's a colour! Banning it, of course, makes the issue more sexist. How very silly!

CariGransnet (GNHQ) Sat 01-Apr-17 07:12:16

I have to say I have never got over the Puffa Puffa Rice thing - I have literally craved it for 40 years. Far nicer than anything they make these days

absent Sat 01-Apr-17 07:22:24

I bake biscuits – so much cheaper than buying and incredibly easy. My grandchildren rave about Tollhouse Cookies, Snickerdoodles and Smores, much to the annoyance of their friends (except the ones who get invited here).

CariGransnet (GNHQ) Sat 01-Apr-17 07:23:47