Gransnet forums

AIBU

Full Time Working Nanny

(34 Posts)
AppleJ Mon 03-Jul-23 11:20:01

Hi, sorry it's my first time on here. It's taken me ages to trim this down and get to the point, as I was writing war and peace. Ultimately, my question is, why do I feel so guilty not being able to look after my 2 grandchildren for a day a week. I work full time in a high pressured job, but I can work from home 3 days a week running my team.

My best friend has her two granddaughters almost every other day and she works (though it's not a pressurised job and she is about to retire from it).

I'm feeling like the worst nan there is, but I just can't do it with my job ... :-(

Smileless2012 Mon 03-Jul-23 11:24:30

Have you been asked to do this Apple?

Even if you have been, your job clearly doesn't make this doable so there's no reason for you to feel guilty about it. Not all GP's I'm sure look after their GC on a regular basis for one, let alone more days a week even though they're retired.

Not everyone wants to make such a commitment and there's nothing wrong in not doing so.

It's what you do with your GC when you do see and get to spend time with them that matters, not the amount of time.

AGAA4 Mon 03-Jul-23 11:28:38

Firstly stop feeling guilty. You are working in a high pressure job so taking on childcare is too much. You know your limits which is a good thing.
Childcare isn't easy so you need to make it clear that much as you love your grandchildren you are too busy to take that extra job on.

eazybee Mon 03-Jul-23 11:34:56

What ages are your grandchildren?

If the job is so pressurised why not work from the office, as presumably you did pre-covid, then you know you are not available to look after grandchildren.

Alternatively, could you work 2 longer days from home, leaving one day free for grandchildren?

Theexwife Mon 03-Jul-23 11:36:59