Gransnet forums

Ask a gran

eating poo

(109 Posts)
etheltbags1 Sun 21-Sep-14 22:17:31

Has any gran found their DGC eating poo. Is it normal will it do harm.

Starling Sun 21-Sep-14 23:52:55

Yuk! Really? Didn't the flavour put them off!? Well, we do wash our hands after going to the toilet for a reason!

Elizabeth1 Mon 22-Sep-14 00:18:34

I was a nursery nurse in an earlier life when children were given a fold up bed after lunch so they could rest for half an hour. Once when I was seeing to a little girl she looked like her mouth was full of maltesers - well you know what that meant? shock I hooked them out and no harm done.

kittylester Mon 22-Sep-14 06:08:37

We found DD1 eating goat's poo when we were at a farm park - she's nearly 40 now!

suebailey1 Mon 22-Sep-14 08:49:58

I do think this might be harmful after all its full of E Coli- a word with a Health Visitor might be a good idea.

moomin Mon 22-Sep-14 08:55:46

hmm

shysal Mon 22-Sep-14 09:18:53

When I was a childminder, a little boy in my care used his potty then turned to me and said 'can't eat it, no?'. Apparently he had tried at home and had been told not to!

Elegran Mon 22-Sep-14 09:30:45

If it is her own poo then it is the same E-coli as she already has in her intestine, so not introducing any new ones. It is spreading the bacteria aroiund from one person to another which passes on disease.

I'd say it is unpleasant but not to get in a flap about it. It is a common habit of small children. Just make sure she is not left with a full nappy long enough to get at it.

"Normal microbiota