Gransnet forums

Ask a gran

Baby Shower

(59 Posts)
nanatobe Thu 13-Oct-16 18:42:05

I'm due my first grandchild in December (so excited). I'm hosting a baby shower for DD next weekend but as I have no experience of these as no such thing in my day (must remember to never say this when baby born) just wondered if anyone has hints and tips on what games etc to do. I have around 20 guests. Thanks

JackyB Thu 03-Nov-16 06:56:21

I was thinking "Why have a party for someone who is about to become a grandparent? Surely that would draw the attention of the real star of the show, i.e. the mum-to-be?" but then again, granny-to-be's friends are hardly going to be invited to the baby shower, so why not?

Maggiemaybe Thu 03-Nov-16 00:40:37

Well, I've just spotted some ideas for hosting a grandparent shower, so it's a growth market, nanatobe. The same daft games and lovely food and lots of presents, for the older end of the family. One suggestion for gifts is "freezer meals they can pull out and heat up during those first few weeks when they will likely be spending lots of time visiting or helping to care for the little one" shock

nanatobe Mon 24-Oct-16 19:10:05

Thanks for your support notanan. Loved some of your comments? We did some quizzes, guess what's in the nappy (various melted choc bars, fun but looked disgusting). Identify the guest from their baby pic, actually quite hard. The best bit was a video of the dad answering some baby questions, that was hiliarous as he proved clueless. I think I could go into baby shower event planning now.

notanan Mon 24-Oct-16 19:02:42

lovely smile glad you had fun, what games did you do in the end?

nanatobe Mon 24-Oct-16 19:00:15