Gransnet forums

Ask a gran

Baby Shower

(58 Posts)
nanatobe Thu 13-Oct-16 18:42:05

I'm due my first grandchild in December (so excited). I'm hosting a baby shower for DD next weekend but as I have no experience of these as no such thing in my day (must remember to never say this when baby born) just wondered if anyone has hints and tips on what games etc to do. I have around 20 guests. Thanks

Iam64 Thu 13-Oct-16 19:25:01

Can you get in touch with one of your daughter's pals, I found the young women very helpful. They organised games like guessing the date/weight of the baby, it included large sheets of white paper, coloured felt tips on which to write your guesses. Guess the thing on the nappy, gruesome I know but quite good fun - you can use various condiments and your imagination.
I made life easy by ordered food, sandwiches and finger nibbles from our local supermarket along with crisps and bread sticks. I also ordered a baby shower cake from costco, £10 and they'll do a pram/baby/photograph, whatever you want - it served 20.
I know I was a bit of a lazy gran but having so many bubbling young women plus their toddlers in the house felt like enough without baking and cooking.
Jugs of cordial and some bucks fizz but the baby's father turned up with several bottles of fizz - tea and coffee was well received.

Enjoy it.

DIORisme167 Thu 13-Oct-16 20:11:12

I think baby showers are a truly awful idea imported from the USA. I would find it deplorable to ask guests to my house for a "party" and expect them to bring presents. Vulgar in the extreme!!

Andyf Thu 13-Oct-16 20:13:42

I remember a couple of games from a baby shower that I went to one was where guests were blindfolded and had to change a nappy on a doll. Another was all the guests were asked to take a baby photo of themselves, they were pooled and we had to guess who they belonged to.
I bet you will find lots of ideas on Pinterest.

Iam64 Thu 13-Oct-16 20:31:09