Gransnet forums

Ask a gran

Nail cutting

(18 Posts)
Rexdog12 Sat 05-Aug-17 22:33:41

Thanks all for feedback. Oriel, good idea with posters. Charley, I only cut nails for those with healthy feet, if they have fungal feet, I refer them to podiatry. Pamela, I am contracted to a local authority after my training who dictate the kit I use. However I'm currently doing a fhp diploma, so later on I will change my insurance and choose my own equipment. But thanks all for useful views x

PamelaJ1 Sat 05-Aug-17 19:07:43

Sorry forgot to say, I am in Norfolk, so my price reflects this, in a lot of places the charge would be more.

PamelaJ1 Sat 05-Aug-17 19:06:05

I am a beauty therapist and I charge £23 for a full pedicure including polish (20 without) This would take me an hour and they come to me. I work from home now but have a fully equipped room with sterilising equipment etc.
I do go out to a couple of clients now they don't drive. What a palaver! It takes me twice as long and the 'set-up' is never good, lighting, and seating to name 2 things. if they were to pay a proper rate taking into account my time and petrol I should be charging them about £35. Course that doesn't happen but I do like them very much and have been treating them for 30 years.
You Are doing a shorter treatment but your time has a value. Either up your game with the sterilising and invest in excellent implements or charge clients separately for the implements you use. I pay at least £30 for my nail clippers, can't bear working with rubbish . Sorry but £6 sounds like rubbish.
If you sell yourself cheap you will regret it. Give an excellent service and charge properly.

Charleygirl Sat 05-Aug-17 18:22:26

I think that you should charge whatever for the first visit but add on the cost of the kit. I do not think that should come out of your earnings for the first visit.