Gransnet forums

Ask a gran

Financially free people answer, please

(73 Posts)
Naty Sat 30-Nov-19 23:42:10

Hi, I'm very impressed with this site. I joined because I wanted to mine this website for the wisdom of experienced women. I have not yet been disappointed.

I am a 34 year old woman on matetnity leave. I have a bachelor's degree in psychology and am a teacher.

Lately I've been feeling very lost and unhappy with my career. I feel like I should be making a lot more money to live a more financially prosperous life. I feel like there is something more I need to do. Could you financially independent people tell me how you "made it"? Were your husbands the breadwinners? How'd they do it? Advice is so appreciated.

GagaJo Sun 01-Dec-19 00:04:07

I'm NEARLY free. I'm a teacher. I went to work abroad in a highly paid job and SAVED like crazy (working evenings too).

I'm going to do it for 5 more years and then stop. Again, 5 more years of HARD saving.

grannyactivist Sun 01-Dec-19 00:50:32

I can't offer you advice about how to live a more financially prosperous life, but I can tell you that, in my experience, happiness is not something to be chased after. I think it's more a by-product of investing yourself in something that's satisfying and brings contentment.

If what you want is happiness then maybe check out this link.

love0c Sun 01-Dec-19 06:00:13