Gransnet forums

Ask a gran

Easy security lights - indoor and out

(9 Posts)
Stoker48 Tue 22-Sep-20 13:48:00

Thanks, everyone.
Yes, In normal times I am out and about a lot and have very frequent holidays.
I live alone in a small 2 bed modern end of terrace. I’m right at the end of a small inlet of three houses and next to a brick wall. There’s no street lighting there.
I’m not a techie type. I don’t have a phone line either.
I’ll have to explore outdoor solar lights. I suppose they have improvdd over the years. The ones I bought 7 years or so ago seemed rather wimpy.
What’s your take on burglar alarms?

Shrub Tue 22-Sep-20 13:31:07

Please also think of your neighbours and check the settings of your security lights. There is a house opposite me occupied by an elderly lady. Her light comes on every time a vehicle goes by. A house at the back in another road has a very powerful back garden light, which comes on frequently during the night and shines over the back of all our houses.

MiniMoon Tue 22-Sep-20 13:26:12

I've got a lamp attached to a smart plug. I can turn it off and on using my phone. It's really useful when we are out as I can turn it on and off randomly.
The security light we have on the corner of our house is powered by the mains. The others are either solar powered or battery operated.

FlexibleFriend Tue 22-Sep-20 12:34:11

I have a security camera trained on the drive so can speak to anyone who comes to the door without having to get up. Getting up is difficult for me as I'm disabled and it takes forever for me to get to the door. When I moved in I installed outdoor lights at the front, side and rear. I also have timers on lights that face the road. These days I'm home most of the time tbh due to disability so there's always lights on. I'm just glad I installed them when I was fit and able.

Teacheranne Tue 22-Sep-20 11:06:56