Gransnet forums

Ask a gran

History lessons

(33 Posts)
Foxglove77 Sun 21-Feb-21 19:18:06

When I was at school and chose my options, I gave up history. I have no knowledge of kings and queens and yet I am a royalist. I am a huge fan of the Queen. I can never answer those questions on The Chase about kings and queens and wives of times past. I would love to study and learn. But where to start? Any suggestions? Thanks

PamelaJ1 Sun 21-Feb-21 19:20:04

My sister has a poster of the royal family tree on the wall opposite the loo. Might that help??

welbeck Sun 21-Feb-21 19:25:06

maybe it's because you did not study history very deeply that you are such a fan of the monarchy...

Foxglove77 Sun 21-Feb-21 19:28:44

Welbeck I am now watching The Crown and indeed this has increased my fascination!

suziewoozie Sun 21-Feb-21 19:32:19

I honestly think that is by studying social and economic history that we come to really understand today ( and that’s what matters)

Foxglove77 Sun 21-Feb-21 19:33:48

PamelaJ1 I could not have posters in my toilet. So unhygienic. Each to their own

Alegrias1 Sun 21-Feb-21 19:37:19

My first suggestion Foxglove77 is to get on BBCi and check out their "The Story of the British Isles" strand. Lots of interesting programs there to get started with.

My second suggestion is to stop watching The Crown! grin

Foxglove77 Sun 21-Feb-21 19:49:43

Susiewoozie I am astonished at how similar the Harry and Meghan situation is to Edward 8th and Mrs Simpson. Fascinating!

Nicegranny Sun 21-Feb-21 19:50:03

Foxglove
The crown is just made for entertainment and only touches roughly on situations not accurately. Enjoy it but don’t take it too seriously. I found it entertaining.
History books are your best bet.

Foxglove77 Sun 21-Feb-21 19:53:54

Nicegranny yes of course thank you, I realize it is dramatized. However I never knew the Queen was so close to Winston Churchill.

silverdragon Sun 21-Feb-21 19:55:57