Gransnet forums

Ask a gran

Ready for a new challenge?

(35 Posts)
GagaJo Tue 21-Mar-23 18:59:30

This is sort of a reverse of the 'Doing things for the last time' thread.

I'm 58. Been a teacher for a long time but have now moved over into online tutoring to enable me to be full-time childcare for my only grandchild.

I'm good at what I do. I was a good teacher too. BUT, here's the rub. I thrive on change and challenge. And other than the sheer number of hours I have to work, I'm not particularly challenged now.

I'm ready for a new opportunity, I just don't know what it is. I know that a few years ago, I would have been almost at retirement age, but professionally, I've got a lot more 'Go' in me.

Anyone else?

Grandmabatty Tue 21-Mar-23 19:44:28

Proof reading or editing? That might be a good sideways move

MrsKen33 Wed 22-Mar-23 05:57:30

Well if my experience of proofreaders is anything to go by, an experienced, long term teacher would be a godsend.

Aveline Wed 22-Mar-23 06:20:30

An OU course in a totally new subject but one that interests you?

nanna8 Wed 22-Mar-23 06:24:41

My daughter,who has a lot of qualifications in her particular field, studied art history for pleasure and absolutely loved it. She did it in her late 40 s and really appreciated the information at uni and drank everything in. Sometimes when we are young we just want to get through our qualifications to get a job .

foxie48 Wed 22-Mar-23 09:40:50