Gransnet forums

Bereavement

Weird experience today

(70 Posts)
Esspee Mon 08-Feb-21 15:04:02

A friend Isobel died recently and her funeral was today. Three of us used to work together and had kept in touch, meeting up a couple of times a year.

We tended to meet up at a central location. Isobel always had her husband drop her off as she was very bad at directions and a nervous driver. I always picked up the other friend as she doesn’t have access to a car and I am a very confident driver.

Today I left home to pick up the friend without a car to go to the funeral. I was listening to a discussion on the radio and completely missed the turnoff I should have taken. I was left with no alternative but to cross the river, take the first turnoff, circle round the block, recross the river, before circling back to take the correct road.

In explaining my detour we both realised at the same time that this was the sort of thing Isobel might have done and that I had in fact done a tight circuit round our old place of work.
Can’t help but wonder if that was Isobel having a laugh with us?

crazyH Mon 08-Feb-21 15:11:40

Yes I’m sure it was Isobel - her time to laugh at you (my best friend was also called Isabel) - loved her to bits - still miss her ❤️

keepingquiet Mon 08-Feb-21 15:15:23

Sorry about the loss of your friend. It sounds as if maybe you were meant to do what you did and raise a smile and a nice memory.
A few years ago we lost my mum. It is a tradition in the Catholic church that bodies are 'received' into church the night before the funeral. I lived a distance away and was travelling on the motorway with my daughter so we could be there for her reception. The motorway was very slow due to an accident and I was frustrated that we would be late.
My daughter took out her satnav and suggested we take a detour. I was sceptical but we left the motorway and took the diversion.