Gransnet forums

Books/book club

March book.

(93 Posts)
gmelon Sun 18-Feb-18 18:08:32

Hello, I am new to the book club.
When does the book for the month get announced?
I would love to join in with the conversations.

CariGransnet (GNHQ) Tue 12-Mar-19 13:50:02

Don't worry - this is an old-thread-turned-new-thread...we have one specially set up for Mr Doubler under the book club heading

mary51 Tue 12-Mar-19 13:21:59

My book came yesterday and I was thrilled to get a HARDBACK! I've started reading it and should finish soonish and I am just wondering what last year's book was as it seems to have an Australian theme?

granfromafar Sun 08-Apr-18 19:17:13

Thanks very much to Grannybear for sending me her copy after she had read it. Overall I enjoyed the book, though certain parts, such as Lachlan's son being taken for adoption was somewhat farfetched. A toddler would not have taken too kindly to being taken from his mother into a family he was unfamiliar with! I can appreciate the weather conditions as described, having recently visited the area, though only in the dry. Very harsh conditions to endure.
I felt that a map of the area at the front of the book may have been helpful.
If anyone else who missed out on a copy would like to read it, I we would be happy to send it on.

annsixty Sat 07-Apr-18 17:31:27

If anyone wants to read this book it is offered today on Bookbub which I subscribe to (it is free), for 99p

gardenoma Sat 07-Apr-18 15:55:37

I loved the descriptions of this vast country, very evocative.
I was less impressed with the characters, virtually the whole of the story was seen from the women's point of view, which would have been ok had there been the odd man's perspective on things as well. After all it was a book about women but it just felt very one sided.
I would have liked to see the situation with Joe's elder brother clarified and seen his take on it too.