Gransnet forums

Chat

Young child pulling hair out

(44 Posts)
unruffled Sun 15-Jan-17 15:35:19

I am new to Gransnet but really enjoy reading everyone's comments - such collective wisdom! I am wondering if anyone has experienced a young child pulling their hair out? My 5 year old granddaughter has started dong this and now admits she does it at night - no explanation. She is very bright and way ahead of others in her class for reading and writing (the school say they can't assess her as she far exceeds the usual standards) and she appears to be very self-confident. However she is finding it hard at playtime as she wants to dictate the game and does not want to join in with others. Her distress is most probably linked to this. Her parents are very loving and supportive and are going to the GP for a referral, but are understandably very upset about it - as indeed I am. I gather the school are also shocked. I have looked it up on the internet but there is very little about this happening with such a young child. Does anyone have experience of it please and have ideas about how best to get her out of the habit? She has long, very beautiful hair but apparently has some bald patches now. I could weep for her as we are very close (they live about 200 miles away)

Ankers Sun 15-Jan-17 16:33:36

Could they afford private education for her?
She may well be very bored at her current school.

She may have started to pull out her hair through boredom, and now it "feels nice" to her, ie she finds it "comforting"?

Just my first thought.

Purpledaffodil Sun 15-Jan-17 17:25:36

kidshealth.org/en/teens/trichotillomania.html
You may well have seen thisunruffled but it gives a name to the condition. I taught a 6 year old who developed it when there was an awful lot of turbulence in his home life, his twin sister went on to do the same thing, but that may have been imitation.