Gransnet forums

Chat

Dreading turning 60 tomorrow

(112 Posts)
MarieLL59 Thu 16-May-19 23:12:31

Sorry this is a very self indulgent post. I’m 60 tomorrow and I feel very scared about the future. I feel that it’s all downhill from now on. For me this is worse than turning 40 or 50. Please don’t berate me because I realise the alternative is obviously worse, plus many people aren’t lucky enough to get to 60. I’m divorced, single with grown up children and grandchildren, I work full time as a nurse. So nothing to be miserable about etc, but I can’t believe i’m 60!! In my head i’m actually 22 so I feel there must be some mistake! The good thing about being this age is the insight I now seem to have, plus I know some pretty fabulous post 60 ladies, but that hasn’t helped me stop the feeling that time is running out for me. I would be really grateful if anyone could tell me if they felt the same, and does it get better?

mcem Wed 22-May-19 11:45:53

Even turning 70 was fine for me!
However, 2 months later I broke my hip. Recovered well and felt quite smug
having been told by physio's and GP that I was a fit, young 70!
Shortly afterwards I was hit by a nasty gastric condition which I found more debilitating than the hip op.
Have now been told I have osteoporosis!
Look after your health because good health will give you a happy lifestyle regardless of the numbers.
Happy birthday! Enjoy!

Resurgam123 Wed 22-May-19 11:41:35

So much depends on your health and the state of your joints. You can strive to live healthfully . But injuries etc are usually unavoidable.

jacq10 Wed 22-May-19 11:29:44