Gransnet forums

Chat

Hand cream

(38 Posts)
grannyactivist Sat 14-Mar-20 12:28:37

With the increase in hand washing I expect sales of hand cream are booming. So, do you have recommendations or perhaps a favourite you’d like to share.

My grandson is a stickler for washing his hands at school where the soap (when they haven’t run out of it), is very harsh. With all the extra hand washing his little hands have become raw (see photo’s) and without a GPs prescription he is not allowed to take hand cream or his own soap into school. angry

Riverwalk Sat 14-Mar-20 12:49:33

Poor little fella!

It's a reaction to the brutal, probably cheap, soap. No child should end up with hands like that - I think a word at the school is in order.

I'm a nurse and even before Coronavirus was OCD regarding hand hygiene but have never had such bad hands as your DGS.

In the meantime, over the weekend, apply something like Neutrogena or Atrixo.

M0nica Sat 14-Mar-20 13:06:54

Poor child, doesn't having such raw chopped hands mean that any contaminant he gets on his hands is more likely to get into his blood stream through the rawness and cracks.

I too am having that problem - and I do use handcream, but that leaves my hands sticky. Does that mean they are more likely to pick up contaminants from any surface I put them on?

As with everything it is the unforseen problems that are the problem.

threexnanny Sat 14-Mar-20 13:11:38

My DGC has a similar problem this week, although not quite as severe as pictured. I was wondering about a protective barrier cream at night. Does anyone else have any suggestions?

lovebeigecardigans1955 Sat 14-Mar-20 13:17:12

I find Dove hand cream very rich and soothing. Could it be suggested that some hand cream is provided by the school due to the soreness of his poor little hands?
Failing that, washing with hot water followed by a cold rinse may help.

rosecarmel Sat 14-Mar-20 13:30:18