Gransnet forums

Chat

when romance turns to finance

(73 Posts)
infoman Thu 08-Oct-20 09:46:04

Been watching BBC as regards to some one who was duped out of a lot of money when their "new partner" starting spewing out all the sob stories for money.
Please be careful,we all work a lifetime to have a better future,
please don't let any one take that away from any of us.

vampirequeen Thu 08-Oct-20 09:53:12

The minute they ask for money alarm bells should ring. I met a chap online who seemed very nice. We chatted for weeks. He was a bridge engineer working in Nigeria and I was a primary school teacher. Suddenly I got a sob story about how he'd knocked down a seven year old girl outside a school and if he couldn't raise the money for her operation then she'd lose her leg. I told him he'd picked the wrong person to ask for money and surprise surprise I never heard from him again.

Witzend Thu 08-Oct-20 10:06:49

I once saw on TV an evidently intelligent woman, only in early middle age, who’d been completely taken in. After sending the scammer all her savings, she then took out a loan for another large amount, to send him. The bank staff asked her what the loan was for - she told them, and they warned her, but she went ahead anyway.

These vile criminals do seem able to establish an incredibly strong psychological hold over their victims.
Ditto other scammers. An elderly neighbour was scammed out of a huge amount of money after being told that she’d won £1m on a lottery (one she’d never entered.).
They were all so incredibly ‘nice’ to her over the phone!

I learned later that one tactic they use, is to tell their victims not to tell friends or family, ‘since they’ll only be jealous and try to stop you getting the money’. ??

Barmeyoldbat Thu 08-Oct-20 10:26:15

They can't take what I haven't got.

Pantglas2 Thu 08-Oct-20 12:06:19

I haven’t met the man I’d feel inclined to give a fortune to - and that includes my husband!

sodapop Thu 08-Oct-20 12:08:17