Gransnet forums

Chat

Do you ‘spring clean ? And if so , what.....

(77 Posts)
NotAGran55 Thu 25-Mar-21 15:10:54

...do you actually do , over and above normal cleaning?

I’ve never had the time or the inclination in the past to do it , and consequently haven’t!
However , I do now have the time but as a newbie I don’t know what to do smile
I have a couple of spare days next week to fill ...

Grandmabatty Thu 25-Mar-21 15:15:08

You've got me thinking. I think I will clean my kitchen cupboards next week. Normal spring cleaning involves taking down curtains for me, washing/cleaning them, cleaning behind sofas and furniture etc. That's got me tired just thinking about it!

grandmajet Thu 25-Mar-21 15:20:38

I’m a domestic goddess all year round!
Seriously, no I don’t think we do any extra in the spring. I think the idea dates back to the days of coal fires, so everything needed a good scrub at the end of winter.

Gannygangan Thu 25-Mar-21 15:22:05

I think spring cleaning is a tradition that has disappeared over the years

BlueBelle Thu 25-Mar-21 15:23:27

No I don’t and never have, just do the normal cleaning stuff any time of the year

Charleygirl5 Thu 25-Mar-21 15:30:11

Not really. I may think I need to sort out my kitchen cupboards so I will do that. My cooker hood needs a good clean so that is on the agenda for this evening when TV does not excite me. It could be any time throughout the year.

I suppose I am more likely to wash curtains in spring because they will dry better outdoors.

My mother, although she worked full time with one day off a month, was a domestic goddess but thank God I did not inherit her genes.

Lucca Thu 25-Mar-21 15:31:18

No. What does it even mean ?

Redhead56 Thu 25-Mar-21 15:37:41