Gransnet forums

Chat

Do you remember your first cat? ?

(54 Posts)
FannyCornforth Mon 03-May-21 09:44:55

Hello Everyone
I misread the title of the 'first car' thread; and I thought that it would make a nice topic for a chat.

My first cat was Stanley, a ginger tom.
We'd just moved into here, our first home.
(Strictly speaking, my first cat was a black cat called Squeak when I was a student - but he was a shared cat, not to mention a nuisance, so I'm not really counting him. Sorry Squeak, old chap.)

Stanley was from the Cats Protection League.
When the lady from the Cats Protection called to do a follow up visit Stanley frantically fled into the field at the bottom of the garden - he recognised the bright yellow CP van immediately. He must have thought that they were going to take him back!

Stanley was a wonderful cat; very vocal, friendly and a bit timid - not a scrapper at all. His step-sister was Maisy; a long haired naughty tortie, also from the CP. Maisy terrified him.

Stanley was very polite and well mannered; never any bother. He was also exceptionally fit - he could soar from roof to roof like a flying fox.
He was a lovely old fellow, bless him.

Who was your first cat?
Thank you as ever thanks

NannyJan53 Mon 03-May-21 09:52:04

My first cat was a tabby called Marshall! I was about 7 or 8, when Mum brought her home. I wanted a dog, but Dad was adamant that was a no no.

The local vicar visited Mums workplace and told her his cat had kittens and would she like one. Mum said she would have the black and white one. When she went to collect only the Tabby was left. She was disappointed but took her anyway. She didnt tell Dad!

Apparently he was silent all evening until around 9pm when he asked 'who is going to look after it'? Mum said, 'oh cats look after theirselves'!

She was quite spoiled Mum only fed her stewing steak or tinned shrimps. The odd time she gave her tinned cat food, she gagged!