Gransnet forums

Chat

What is the bravest thing you have ever done?

(216 Posts)
Sago Wed 02-Jun-21 07:11:27

It doesn’t have to be fighting off intruders whilst stirring a risotto or bungee jumping off the Shard just anything that took a lot of courage.

Calendargirl Wed 02-Jun-21 07:31:06

Not brave as such, but years ago before we all had computers, DD was backpacking in Australia.

I plucked up courage and went to the local further education college where you could go on a computer for a free session. I was an absolute novice, but I so wanted to send her an e Mail, I must have somehow received one from her, must have gone up there to read it on a communal device.

I struggled through, sent her a load of unpunctuated, non- paragraphed drivel as I couldn’t keep asking the poor staff to assist this idiot who didn’t even know how to switch the damn thing on!

She received it, and said “Oh Mum, that was so brave of you! I know how nervous you must have been!”

Sounds daft now I know, but I was so thrilled to have this communication with her.

FannyCornforth Wed 02-Jun-21 07:39:59

Good morning Sago!
I don't know if it was brave as such, but academically and motivationally (?) this is the thing I'm most proud of.

I taught myself the entire GCSE Biology curriculum in three months.
It was because I needed a GCSE in a Science subject to get on a PGCE course. I did it from scratch in just 12 weeks.
I was worried sick about it!
I thought of little else for the entire time.

I have done absolutely nothing in a physical sense that can be thought of as even a little bit brave.
I am a total cowardly custard.

kittylester Wed 02-Jun-21 07:44:35

I hate flying but we had a phone call from our ex dil telling us that our eldest son was in intensive care so we flew to Osaka without any idea of whether he would still be alive when we got there.

I am not at all brave but I think that was one of the scariest things I have ever had to do.

Sara1954 Wed 02-Jun-21 07:49:11