Gransnet forums

Coronavirus

Remote Learning & Grandson

(8 Posts)
Marydoll Sun 24-Jan-21 00:25:21

I'm a retired teacher and shielding.
I do an hour's remote teaching with my 5 year old granddaughter four days a week.
If you have health conditions, why is your daughter putting you in this position?

Susiewest Sun 24-Jan-21 00:17:25

Thanks for your responses. I know that there are many risks and that I have to deal with this tomorrow. I’m sure there must be thousands of grandparents in a similar position, but it’s so difficult to say no. I do feel sad that after telling me no contact occurring, that mixing has occurred. At the end of the day, it’s life and death and teaching can be put on hold till we get the vaccine.

GrannyRose15 Sat 23-Jan-21 23:21:06

I home schooled my 6 year-old grandson throughout the first lockdown. It was enjoyable but exhausting.

How many hours are you doing and is some of it actually childcare rather than home schooling? Sitting with a child across a desk for a few hours is not likely to be so risky but engaging with all his activities throughout the day is more so.

If you really are concerned, your grandson might actually like having a session with Granny every day on Zoom.

Esspee Sat 23-Jan-21 23:20:12

Why not suggest that you will continue schooling your grandson once he has quarantined for 14 days (or whatever the current guidelines are). That shows you are willing but not prepared to risk your health.

Teacheranne Sat 23-Jan-21 23:10:55

If I had underlying health concerns, I would not be mixing with anyone.

Unless your daughter and son in law never leave the house ie work from home, have food deliveries etc, then you are at risk of catching Covid from them.

I am also a recently retired teacher but luckily no one has asked me to directly help with teaching although I have worked with my 13 year old nephew remotely when he was struggling.