Gransnet forums

Coronavirus

Grandchildren Bubble sent home

(67 Posts)
Susiewest Mon 28-Jun-21 21:32:17

My grandchildren have all been sent home today, leaving parents with dilemma. Wondering if fully vaccinated grandparents are helping out with children off school, so that parents can work. Children don’t have any symptoms. Thanks.

Whatdayisit Mon 28-Jun-21 21:36:37

I say help.

Hithere Mon 28-Jun-21 21:50:48

Are parents working from home?

It is hard to take care if kids while working from home but it can be done

Hithere Mon 28-Jun-21 21:51:04

Take care of, not if

cornishpatsy Mon 28-Jun-21 22:25:46

Vaccinated grandparents are as safe as they will ever be and there will always be unvaccinated children that could or will have Covid. I think we just have to live with it now.

MerylStreep Mon 28-Jun-21 22:36:33

What’s the problem. You’ve been vaccinated and your family need help ?
I’ve been helping for the past 15 months. Family come first in my world.

Galaxy Mon 28-Jun-21 22:37:36

I think it's because they have been sent home to isolate.

love0c Tue 29-Jun-21 00:10:14

MerylStreep Exactly. My friend is looking after one of her grandchildren again full time as he has been sent home for 10 days. Someone in their bubble has tested positive. It is ridiculous. The other two siblings can still attend school and both parents can go to work. This is following the official advice. This has been discussed on TV this evening. Thousands of healthy children are missing school each week due to this.

growstuff Tue 29-Jun-21 04:00:02

Yes, a quarter of million children were at home self-isolating last week. What do you suggest? Should there be no attempt to reduce infection?

This is why it is so important that community transmission is brought right down and why there must be an investment in good classroom ventilation and masks should continue to be worn.