Gransnet forums

Coronavirus

567 under 5's admitted to hospital in the UK in the last five days

(51 Posts)
GagaJo Thu 06-Jan-22 19:28:54

Should we stop sending our under 5's to school until this wave dies down?

uk.news.yahoo.com/covid-record-number-of-children-admitted-to-hospital-in-a-single-day-174113687.html

VioletSky Wed 12-Jan-22 07:58:53

My whole family now has had/currently has covid except me. I also work in a school.

My daughter has covid for the second time in 4 months.

Ethelwashere1 Wed 12-Jan-22 07:39:22

Why doesnt the uk vaccinate children anyway. It would solve many problems with school absences/closures.

Josieann Tue 11-Jan-22 19:39:07

I am wondering whether there has been a decline in the number of 0-5 years admitted to hospital as a result of covid? We might have expected the number to have risen again as children return to Nursery after the Christmas break, but today I heard a different story. I have been asked to help out at a special event in the Kindergarten at the end of this week and had a long chat with the Head today. Apparently all the under 5s are back in class, most of them having already had covid at the end of last month. For a couple of days at the end of last term she only had 9 pupils present out of 60 on the roll!
Hopefully this means that the peak in admissions in this age group has now passed.
growstuff might be able to confirm with an updated graph as we are now a good few weeks on?

EllanVannin Fri 07-Jan-22 14:59:17

I would hope that all their other inoculations are up to date ! Including an annual nasal 'flu programme that children get now.

Josieann Fri 07-Jan-22 14:48:42