Gransnet forums

Dieting & exercise

The other side of reducing sugar in foods

(88 Posts)
M0nica Wed 02-Jan-19 17:09:35

Tucked into my stocking on Christmas morning was a bottle of Ribena Winter Spice. I hate milk so often have a hot cordial where others would have a milky drink or hot chocolate.

The label said in big print reduced sugar nothing else, but one taste of it had me spitting it out. The sugar that might otherwise be added had been replaced by sweetener and it has a horrible taste that I loathe. When I studied the very tiny print that listed the ingredients. there it was; artificial sweetener, (aspartame and something else).

Now the family has gone home, I have tipped the contents down the sink and recycled the bottle, but now I am going to have to scrutinise the label of anything I buy that might contain sugar to see if it has been replaced by sweetener and, if it is, put it back on the shelf.

I think if manufacturers replace sugar with sweetener, this should be clearly stated on the label in print big enough to read without glasses, at least 8 point type.

janeainsworth Wed 02-Jan-19 17:34:10

I agree Monica, both about the taste and about the labelling.
It’s actually quite hard to find cordial now that doesn’t contain artificial sweetener.
I rarely drink cordial myself but if I do, I’d rather have sucrose than aspartame, stevia or sucralose.

The other thing to watch out for is sucrose being replaced with fructose.
The other day MrA inadvertently bought some ‘reduced sugar’ Fever Tree tonic water, instead of our usual kind.

Yes, it doesn’t contain artificial sweeteners, as it proudly proclaims in the label.

Yes, it only has 4.5 g sugar per 100ml instead of 8g.

But that’s because the ‘natural’ sugar it contains is fructose, which is twice as sweet as sucrose, so you only need half as much.