Gransnet forums

Education

Learning languages with Duolingo

(167 Posts)
StarDreamer Fri 22-Jul-22 07:14:45

Duolingo is a facility for language learning, some of duolingo is free.

I learned of duolingo from a post in the following thread.

LINK > www.gransnet.com/forums/education/1313001-Have-any-of-you-done-any-structured-learning-recently

This thread is to discuss duolingo please.

LINK > www.duolingo.com/

Please note that at start up that the choice of several languages is displayed, but there are many more.

Clicking on the > symbol that is at the right side of those choices displays more choices.

Marydoll Fri 22-Jul-22 07:22:07

Many of us on here are daily participants of Duolinguo, SD.
My DH has a three year, unbroken, daily record for Italian and Portuguese.
He and my SIL are in competition with each other!
I just tend to drop in and out of the languages I studied, as a refresher.

StarDreamer Fri 22-Jul-22 07:24:38

I have started to learn Welsh from the beginning.

I have tested my existing knowledge of Esperanto, French and Latin. Although I got some forward placement for each of them, to various extents, I am starting to proceed through them from the start so as to reinforce what I know and to learn other things.

StarDreamer Fri 22-Jul-22 07:31:07

I have been using duolingo for six days, some each day.

I have been given some lingots.

What can one get with lingots if one gets lots of them please?

Also I get XP scores. I am not sure what those are. Can someone explain please?

Jaxjacky Fri 22-Jul-22 07:42:49

I used it a few years ago to improve my French, but gave up when I reached a level which would cost to continue. It may have changed since,

StarDreamer Fri 22-Jul-22 07:46:55

I have also had a look at Spanish, as a beginner.

Blondiescot Fri 22-Jul-22 07:56:04