Gransnet forums

Estrangement

Estrangement

(16 Posts)
softly400 Wed 14-Apr-21 22:50:26

This is my first time posting, I need support really badly at the moment. I had already paid my fare to Queensland to see my Youngest set of Grandchildren last year for my 80th Birthday. Unfortunately this was put aside, due to Covid and Border closures. I have had my first injection, and was in touch with my daughter in law and son quite a bit. My daughter in law sent me School Vacation times, in order for me to plan this year, which I did do and booked on the credit with Virgin, she called me and told me they were going away. I knew this, but I have always gone up in June July when its not too hot, so I chose a few days during the school holidays, and left the time open as in the past they went to see her brother for one week, (the holidays are for two weeks). She rang and told me I need to plan more because she said quote" You knew we were going away".. I replied yes but you never told me the dates when you were going or your return. she then kept on saying I had told you but no email or text was ever given to me. So I rang my son and told him I was not happy because I knew by then they were using their caravan to travel up North, with her Mother and Father, (they live next door). I told my son I had waited for a year to get up and I didnt think this was fair. No phone calls either from my Grandchildren for 3 years, I send them Birthday cards and presents and Christmas Presents too, but even though I put in the card to ring me not one of them does this. I feel really really hurt and cannot sleep properley at the moment. I was close to my son being a single parent a long time ago. Too heartbreaking for words. Please give me your thoughts, which I would apreciate at the moment. Sorry for the long post.

CafeAuLait Wed 14-Apr-21 22:56:31