Gransnet forums

Food

Delia's mincemeat

(36 Posts)
Nonnie Thu 18-Oct-18 16:21:02

DS was telling me not to think about Christmas yet as it is only October but a few hours later asked me when I was going to make mince pies as he had already bought some so I decided to make my mincemeat.

I've never used Delia's recipe before, the one I use doesn't requite cooking before using in the pies. You chop everything up and mix it (apart from the brandy) and leave it for 12 hours and then cook on 110C for 3 hours before leaving to cool and adding the brandy.

It is still warm and I just tasted it, delicious and I haven't even added the brandy yet! I was planning to buy some shop made for the GC but think I will freeze some of this before adding the brandy just for them. The rest apparently keeps for 3 years, no chance!

phoenix Thu 18-Oct-18 16:26:56

My mother and I used to make Delias mincemeat every year, it's very, very good!

I used to trundle over with my food processor to make light work of the apple chopping.

Would smell delish simmering away in the big pan on the Aga!

Nonnie Thu 18-Oct-18 16:33:22

I'm keeping out of the kitchen so I don't feel the need to taste it again!

Teetime Thu 18-Oct-18 16:38:52

I always revert to Delia for xmas...cant beat her recipes if you like traditional flavours.

Nanagem Thu 18-Oct-18 16:48:01

I always make my own, don’t cook mine first though, it’s a recipe from my old school cookery book!

M0nica Fri 19-Oct-18 09:10:38

My recipe is a non-cook one. A friend gave it to me decades ago. Once made the instructions are to let it rest, covered for 3 days, stirring each day and then put it in jars.

I now make all my Christmas dried fruit foods (mincemeat, pudding and cake) because all are enjoyed by members of my family with nut allergies and making them myself, to my usual recipe but minus the nuts, I know they can eat them without any worry.

Maybelle Fri 19-Oct-18 09:40:46