Gransnet forums

Genealogy/memories

50 years ago......

(53 Posts)
Annobel Mon 25-Jun-12 10:57:34

.......I graduated. I can remember, as if it were yesterday, lining up with my contemporaries in alphabetical order, outside the graduation hall where my father had graduated 28 years previously. Proud parents waited inside for the graduands to file in. St Andrews was sunny, if not hot. There was also a feeling of relief - I'd made it! And miraculously I'd lost a good deal of weight in the run-up to the exams.

susiecb Mon 25-Jun-12 11:39:10

What a lovely memory - I was 9!

Greatnan Mon 25-Jun-12 12:02:16

I had been married for 3 years and had just started trying to get pregnant. It didn't take long - fertility is not a problem in my family! - and she was born on 31st July, 1963. The winter of 62/63 was very harsh but I was floating on air as I was so thrilled to be having a baby - I had become very broody.

nanaej Mon 25-Jun-12 17:26:30

I was at boarding school in the NE of England & my parents were in East Africa (Tanganyika /Tanzania) I enjoyed boarding school but did see some unhappy kids there. Would never have contemplated sending my own..for all sorts of reasons!

Anagram Mon 25-Jun-12 17:28:39

That was the year I sat (and passed) my 11 Plus! Started at the Grammar School in the September - what a culture shock!

kittylester Mon 25-Jun-12 17:29:40

Lovely memories! I was 13, just moved from a village to a suburb and discovered boys, The Beatles and Tom Jones!

whenim64 Mon 25-Jun-12 18:24:15