Gransnet forums

Genealogy/memories

One Upmanship.

(94 Posts)
Falconbird Wed 04-Mar-15 07:17:23

Years ago when I was 21 and just married - we were invited to a Cheese and Wine Party.

There was a woman there who was giving me very unfriendly looks and after awhile she came up to me and asked what I did for a living.

I replied that I worked for British Aluminium. She looked surprised and then said "Oh what do they make, milk bottle tops," I replied "No parts for Concorde."

Her face was a picture. I think she had me down as a bit of an air head.

feetlebaum Wed 04-Mar-15 08:12:33

How redolent of the 60s and 70s - the Cheese and Wine party! And, of course, its bastard child the cheese fondu event... Oh ma deer!
Weren't we all sophisticated!

annsixty Wed 04-Mar-15 08:21:44

Those dinner parties in the 70's and 80's were breeding grounds for social pretensions. My DH was a Chartered Surveyor working for a LA and we were invited to dinner by a colleague of his from another dept. One of their friends asked me what DH's job was and as I started to explain that it involved Property management,he looked down his nose and said "Oh a glorified rent collector" and I just replied "yes something like that" and turned to talk to someone less snobbish.

Falconbird Wed 04-Mar-15 09:15:16

All very true. Those were the days of the dinner party even having the boss and his wife to dinner.

I was at a party of some sort during this era and I heard my DH described as a "Mindless Mathematician." He was a Systems Analyist.

Another friend introduced himself as an Engineer and another pretentious guest remarked "surprised he isn't covered in grease etc., The friend had a degree in Engineering.

Ariadne Wed 04-Mar-15 09:21:17

I was sitting next to a very old school Brigadier at a mess dinner in the 70s.
"And how do you fill your spare time,my dear?" He asked.
"I'm just completing my Master's thesis on theories of language acquisition," I said, (absolutely grinning inside)
Still grin