Gransnet forums

Genealogy/memories

One Upmanship.

(95 Posts)
Falconbird Wed 04-Mar-15 07:17:23

Years ago when I was 21 and just married - we were invited to a Cheese and Wine Party.

There was a woman there who was giving me very unfriendly looks and after awhile she came up to me and asked what I did for a living.

I replied that I worked for British Aluminium. She looked surprised and then said "Oh what do they make, milk bottle tops," I replied "No parts for Concorde."

Her face was a picture. I think she had me down as a bit of an air head.

merlotgran Mon 09-Mar-15 10:50:35

www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/food/article-2977102/How-one-family-ate-way-decades-new-BBC2-Time-Dinner.html

How appropriate!!

granjura Sat 07-Mar-15 21:24:59

When a traditional sweet shop changed hands in Leicester- can't remember the year, but early 80s- I bought 8 large sweet jars for £1 each- just love them, one for lentils, one for rice, one for pasta, one for sloe gin (;) ), 1 for porridge oats and one for dried (home picked/forayed) mushrooms- we have a large kitchen cupboard without a door + shelves- they look great with the wicker baskets I bought at Tesco's about the same time.

Our first kitchen table (black, white and grey formica) and stools had been thrown out by next door neighbour, I went to beg for it. Everything was begged and borrowed- but not from family as my parents lived abroad, and mil had downsized and given stuff away a year before we got married. From her I have got a top half wicker mannequin I found in her garage- I use it for costume jewellery and I love it.

J52 Sat 07-Mar-15 18:27:28

Length of curtaining ! x

J52 Sat 07-Mar-15 18:26:50

Falconbird, we were also given the stainless steel spaghetti tongs. I can't remember what happened to the jar, but the tongs are still going strong after 40 years. They are very useful for all sorts of things.