Gransnet forums

Genealogy/memories

Invisible pull towards ancestral roots?

(36 Posts)
LiltingLyrics Mon 09-Jul-18 15:22:21

I am a keen albeit amateur family historian and enjoy doing research for others.

Time and time again I come across this same thing somuchso that I am starting to think there is something very real about it.

People are attracted to certain places where they choose to live, work, study or simply explore. When I draw up their family tree I often find an ancestor that they had no prior knowledge of had come from that very same place. It's usually only two of three generations back.

It doesn't have to be a scenic place. It can be a run down area of a grimy city, a choice of university out of a number of equally good offers, an overseas holiday destination the person returns to again and again or a post-retirement escape to the country.

Does anyone have any stories that might support the theory of an invisible pull towards ancestral roots or is it all just coincidence?

M0nica Mon 09-Jul-18 15:31:20

What about the evidence that this does not happen. You work out the probabilities of your theory you have to look at the evidence for both possibilities.

cavewoman Mon 09-Jul-18 16:10:45

There are a couple of villages that always fill me with peace and a quiet sort of joy. Until I did my family tree I had no idea that all of my fathers forebearers had lived in them both since at least the 17th century.

However, my research also shows me many other areas on my mothers side that I have no fondness for at all.
I think that I just like the two villages for the lovely places that they are.

paddyann Mon 09-Jul-18 17:26:39