Gransnet forums

Genealogy/memories

Invisible pull towards ancestral roots?

(37 Posts)
LiltingLyrics Mon 09-Jul-18 15:22:21

I am a keen albeit amateur family historian and enjoy doing research for others.

Time and time again I come across this same thing somuchso that I am starting to think there is something very real about it.

People are attracted to certain places where they choose to live, work, study or simply explore. When I draw up their family tree I often find an ancestor that they had no prior knowledge of had come from that very same place. It's usually only two of three generations back.

It doesn't have to be a scenic place. It can be a run down area of a grimy city, a choice of university out of a number of equally good offers, an overseas holiday destination the person returns to again and again or a post-retirement escape to the country.

Does anyone have any stories that might support the theory of an invisible pull towards ancestral roots or is it all just coincidence?

Grammaretto Fri 22-Nov-19 22:59:29

Several odd coincidences have happened to me.
I was an art student in Norwich and loved to sketch in the surrounding villages. 30 years later, studying my family tree, I traced my 3 x g parents to one of those villages. I had no idea at all until seeing it on the 1851 cesus as a birthplace.
Now I find I am living a few miles from where another ancestor had emigrated from in 1830.

Chestnut Wed 06-Nov-19 16:47:10

Until the mid 1800s my ancestors were all living in rural areas and mostly working on the land. I love those places and definitely feel comfortable and happy when I'm there. But then (with the Industrial Revolution) they were mostly forced to move into the industrialised city areas which are not so nice to visit today. So I don't feel the same there! But then you could say those areas are not where their roots lie, so maybe that is the reason.

Bathsheba Wed 30-Oct-19 09:09:18

Reported

sukalu88 Wed 30-Oct-19 08:54:22