Gransnet forums

Grandparenting

Finding being a long distance nanny so painful

(124 Posts)
hopefulnanny Tue 14-Aug-12 08:39:21

Hi all
I am new to Gransnet but have seen that lots of you are in the same boat as me. My darling first Grandson was born in March in Sydney where my daughter and her husband now live. They have been home with baby and are due to come back again for his first birthday next March. But it is so painful not being able to touch or cuddle him or to do stuff with my daughter. I know how happy they all are and I am happy for them too. But it feels so hard knowing they will probably never return to the Uk and we will have to get by on skype, texts and email in between their visits. We hope to get out there sometime but we have a wheelchair bound disabled son and planning long haul trips like this will certainly take some time and will depend on his health at the time. Some days it doesnt feel so bad. My daughters husbands parents are able to get out to see them once a year and that is lovely but sometimes I feel so sad that we cant do the same and I worry that we will not form a strong bond with out grandson. I want to be happy in my life but I am constantly having blue days over this . I miss them all so much. Does it get any easier ? [sad ]

absentgrana Tue 14-Aug-12 08:52:16