Gransnet forums

Grandparenting

Non-biological grandchildren

(43 Posts)
lolais Sat 29-Aug-20 19:12:07

Hello I am new to Gransnet and I would appreciate your opinion regarding my non-biological grandchildren. My daughter and her ex- partner have a nine year old and a six year old (my daughters partner conceived the children using a donor (they are two gay women) so the children are not biologically connected to me. Because they are not my daughters biological children she has over compensated by thoroughly indulging the children in an effort to try to make them bonded to her. As a result, my other daughter and son have a poor relationship with the children as do I. We have just had a disastrous holiday because of the tension, and my daughter’s need to put her children above all else. I must admit I do find it very difficult to be even fond of them let alone love them. I was wondering what other grandparents feel about having donor grandchildren that are not biologically related. I do have four other grandchildren that I love.

Babyshark Sat 29-Aug-20 21:18:16

I think I would need to hear more specifics about how she put them first on holiday. In the face it that seems pretty normal but I’m wondering if it’s perhaps more extreme?

Also how has her parenting impacted on your relationship with them?

paddyanne Sat 29-Aug-20 21:19:10

My daughter had two children when she met her "new" husband 10 years ago.His parents treated them as their own from day one.I heard it for myself,when asked how many GC they had they said 3 and gave their ages.the children love them and they are well loved back .These children are your grandchildren because your daughter sees them as HER children.they should be treated the same as your "biological" GC ,its not acceptable to treat them differently.

Bibbity Sat 29-Aug-20 21:26:55

I agree with above. Can you explain your history with us and maybe those who have experienced similar can help.

Starblaze Sat 29-Aug-20 21:32:35