Gransnet forums

Health

Chronic illness and daughter's expectations of me!

(47 Posts)
sunnym Thu 03-Aug-17 12:39:06

Hi everyone

I am new to Gransnet so please let me know if this post is in the right place or not!

I had to take early retirement a number of years ago due to ill health.

For a lot of the time I ended up looking after my grandsons who were babies back then, through till picking them up from school etc. They thought I was the best grandma ever!

Fast forward to 2015 and the grandsons are in secondary school so I no longer pick them up from school or see them on a regular basis. I understand they have lots of things they are doing now that they are teenagers.

I also found out in early 2016 that I had an incurable brain problem which has been the major cause of my ill health and the cause of my rapid hearing loss.

I also have a muscle disorder that was diagnosed just previous to my early retirement. So the 2 problems have reduced my quality of life considerably and I have to use a wheelchair to get out of the house.
I spent most of 2016 attending hospital of tests, apps, treatments etc.

I told my daughter that I could no longer have my grandsons stay over night but they could come over for the afternoons because by this time I could no longer get dressed, shower or make food for myself and I was in a major relapse.
As expected she did not take this well because it interfered with her and husband's busy social life.

I did not see my grandsons for 5months, but this is not a new issue and has been used many times in the past as her way of punishing me for not bending to her every whim!

Up until the last 18months I had always done everything I could to help her but now that I have told her I need time to take care of myself instead of being understanding she has taken to being verbally abusive. She has always had a very short temper.