Gransnet forums

Health

EMDR

(60 Posts)
Anniebach Sat 03-Nov-18 09:10:56

Has anyone any experience of this please?

Squiffy Sat 03-Nov-18 10:04:10

Annie I just googled this as I had no idea what it is! I hope that it really helps you, if you decide to give it a go.

Luckygirl Sat 03-Nov-18 10:07:12

I have heard of this annie and it has its adherents, but I have no personal experience.

I think that you are very sensible to be giving things a go, trying to broaden your life and enhance its quality. And I would say, just give it a go. Nothing lost!

Anniebach Sat 03-Nov-18 10:21:36

The Wellbeing Manager from the local MIND called to see me Thursday , he apologised that they had let me down with broken promises, such as support to start using the scooter and leaving my garden in a mess . I asked for recommendations for a counsellor because I can’t get to the surgery. He said they had qualified councillors and there had been positive results with one who uses EMDR, he mailed me yesterday , said he had spoken to her and she would give thought to helping me using face time. I should hear next week. I think perhaps using face time wouldn’t work but hope she will try it. I want to get my life back .

DoraMarr Sat 03-Nov-18 10:23:00

Good for you. You are being really brave and positive.

Polly48 Sat 03-Nov-18 10:35:32

Good luck Annie - sounds like a really positive step smile

Sparklefizz Sat 03-Nov-18 10:46:22

EMDR does work, and is often used with EFT which I think you have asked about before, Annie.

Sparklefizz Sat 03-Nov-18 10:47:25

Both EMDR and EFT could be done using Facetime because you would follow the eye movements and/or tapping being suggested.

Anniebach Sat 03-Nov-18 11:00:16

Thank you x

I was so hopeful about the EFT treatment but she retired .

If either can be done by Face time , great, I will willingly give it my all.