Gransnet forums

House and home

My washing is dirtier than when it went in??

(35 Posts)
Solitaire Mon 30-Jan-17 13:21:34

Washing grandson's rugby socks in a sports wash today. They are meant to be white and have come out dark grey! I wash them twice a week and it's never happened before. GILLYBOB I read that you're an expert on washing grin please help!!

tanith Mon 30-Jan-17 15:28:59

You didn't wash them at too high a temperature by mistake?

f77ms Mon 30-Jan-17 15:37:38

I don`t think they are salvageable Solitaire . As the Mum of 4 sons I am an expert on socks grin Maybe someone will prove me wrong but I cannot imagine how you will ever get them white again unless the red bands turn pink as a result x

Ana Mon 30-Jan-17 15:41:27

You could just dip the feet in a bleach mixture overnight - although some would inevitably leach into the first red band...

Jalima Mon 30-Jan-17 15:58:15

They're rugby socks - he'll be playing in another muddy match soon! Don't worry about them, unless they've shrunk smile

I used to find a bar of Fairy washing soap was good for rubbing the dirtiest parts before they went into the machine. Otherwise Vanish spray or solid stick?

When you have the whole team's kit to wash you don't worry about a pair of socks that don't come out looking as if someone's mother doesn't use P***

Jalima Mon 30-Jan-17 15:58:50

That P*** is not what it looks like, it is meant to be a brand of washing powder blush

Greyduster Mon 30-Jan-17 16:27:38

It only looks like the feet that are affected. Once he has his boots on will it matter?

Ana Mon 30-Jan-17 16:28:55

Jalima, I must admit I did have a giggle at that, but knew what you meant! grin

DanniRae Mon 30-Jan-17 17:18:29

I used to wash my husband's football team's kit - all of it! And the shorts and socks were mainly white - Oh the disappointment of not being able to get it lovely and clean. I, thankfully, don't do it anymore.
Sorry, I realise this isn't much help but I wish you luck!!